Coke Contains Alcohol?! Here's What JAKIM Says:

×

SEARCH FOR

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Food

Coke Contains Alcohol?! Here's What JAKIM Says:

1 Week ago
By MJC97

After an article in the Times News Network which sourced its info from a weekly public radio program and podcast This American Life, on the secret formula of Coke went viral on Twitter, Muslims in the country started to wonder whether or not it is actually halal since it apparently contains alcohol. 


Here's a photo of the article:

https://image.goody25.com/images/catalog/61716/20220513_16524302386701_mobile.jpeg  


As we all know, Coca-Cola has had seven mystery flavours since its introduction in 1886, making it one of the most memorable and addictive beverages in the world. But, according to the article, it contains coca leaves, caffeine, lime juice, a ton of sugar, caramel, vanilla while the syrup is made out of alcohol and the oils of orange, lemon, nutmeg, coriander, neroli, and cinnamon. The podcast claimed that they got the ingredients list from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. 


Many Muslims who saw this were in shock and were wondering if all this while they have been consuming a beverage that isn't actually halal. However, Coca-Cola's Kerry Tressler later came forward and claimed that the ingredients listed were in fact, incorrect. 

https://image.goody25.com/images/catalog/61716/20220513_16524312628021_mobile.jpeg  

However, that certainly did not clear the minds of the worried Muslims. What does coke actually contain? What if it actually has alcohol and we don't know it since its recipe is a secret?


Thankfully, the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (Jakim) come forward to clear things up and issued a statement assuring Muslims in Malaysia that Coca-Cola is halal to consume.

https://image.goody25.com/images/catalog/61716/20220513_16524315052331_mobile.jpeg  

"According to Jakim's Halal Hub record data, all 14 versions of the drink are still halal. Also, the manufacturer's halal certificate's expiration date is likewise valid," claimed an unidentified spokesman for Jakim to KOSMO!


Coca-Cola Bottlers (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. has also met all of the strict halal requirements, according to the government agency. Its certificate is set to expire in 2024.

https://image.goody25.com/images/catalog/61716/20220513_16524314617161_mobile.jpeg  

So, if Coke is your favourite drink and you are a Muslim, fear not, for the only thing you've got to worry about is getting diabetes. 

coke alcohol jakim Coke Contains Alcohol Coke Halal


MJC97

Just another human, trying to survive.

Report

Trending


7 Fancy High Tea Spots In The Klang Valley That Are Fit For A Queen!

Food   3 Days ago

Countries Malaysians Can Travel To Even With The Weak Ringgit

Travel   4 Days ago

"He Had Photos Of His Friend's Cleavage & Butt!" Malaysians Share How They Caught Their Partner Cheating

Relationships   23 Hours ago